The "M8 Alliance of Academic Health Centers, Universities and National Academies" is the academic foundation of the World Health Summit. This unique network currently consists of 31 members worldwide, including the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP), which represents the national academies of medicine and science in more than 100 countries.

The M8 Alliance was initiated by Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin in 2009 on the occasion of the first World Health Summit. The International Presidency of the World Health Summit rotates annually among members of the M8 Alliance. 


Academic Health Centers, Universities, and National Academies of Medicine and Sciences


Agenda-setting for global health improvement and development of science based solutions to global health challenges.


At each World Health Summit the M8 Alliance issues the M8 Alliance Declaration: recommendations for action to international policymakers.
The M8 Alliance organizes annual Regional Meetings in the member countries, regular Expert Meetings, and Summer Schools.

Focus Topics

The M8 Alliance members work together on a range of issues, such as Migrant and Refugee Health.

M8 Alliance Application

If you are an academic institution interested in becoming a member of the M8 Alliance, please contact m8alliance(at) for details.

The following criteria are mandatory:

- Highest quality of the institution with respect to overall academic excellence and standing in its country or region
- Proven expertise in areas relevant for global health
- Diversity, equity, and inclusion as characteristics of the institution
- Suitability of the institution to the search profile of the M8 Alliance 

New members are elected by the M8 Alliance Assembly.