Dainius Pavalkis

Surgeon, Professor, Lithuania

Dr. Dainius Pavalkis is Provost Kazakh national medical university and professor at Lithuanian University of Health Sciences, and the former Minister for Education and Science of Lithuania (2012-2015). He is the author of numerous publications mainly focusing on colorectal cancer, radio and chemotherapies, surgery and quality assurance measures, and has conducted many international research and science activities in different fields, giving priority to biomedical research and biotechnologies for health care. During Lithuanian Presidency of the European Council, he finalized Horizon 2020, Erasmus plus and other future programs for EU development. He was responsible for preparation of the Smart specialization strategy in Lithuania and is the member of the Scientific Panel for Health (SPH) of European Commission, a member of advisory group to Commissioner Carlos Moedas Research and Innovation Strategic Expert High Level group (RISE HL).

André Pereira

Director, Centre for Biomedical Law, University of Coimbra, Portugal

André Pereira is Professor of Law at the University of Coimbra in Portugal and holds a PhD in Law specializing in “Patients’ Rights and Medical Liability”. He is the Director of the Centre for Biomedical Law, president of the Institutional Review Board of AIBILI, president of the Council of Bioethics of the Portuguese Society of Human Genetics, a fellow of ECTIL in Austria. Dr. Pereira is member of several Ethics Committees, member of the National Council of Ethics for Life Sciences, and member of the International Academy of Comparative Law. He has previously been the treasurer of the World Association for Medical Law.

Prathip Phantumvanit

Director, Thammasat University, Thailand

Dr. Prathip Phantumvanit is currently the dean at Faculty of Dentistry at Thammasat University and board member of Thai Dental Council. He also serves as the WHO Advisory Expert Panel on Oral Health since 1988 and has served as the Vice-chair of Public Health Committee of the World Dental Federation (FDI). Dr. Prathip Phantumvanit is the recipient of the Merit Award in International Community Dentistry from the American Association for Public Health Dentistry in 2006 and Distinguished Service Award from the International Association for Dental Research in 2012. He is also the founder of the household water defluoridation devise and co-founder of the Atraumatic Restorative Treatment (ART).