World Health Summit 2009

"The Evolution of Medicine"

700 Participants - 440 Speakers - 60 Nations - 55 Sessions

October 14 - 18, Langenbeck-Virchow-Haus, Berlin, Germany

"It is our great pleasure to invite you to the first annual World Health Summit. It will be the forum to bring together an international array of eminent researchers, physicians, and representatives of government, industry, and healthcare systems.
With the foundation of the M8 Alliance came the creation of a unique global network of outstanding academic institutions. It is the main force behind the World Health Summit."

Detlev Ganten
World Health Summit Founding President


Angela Merkel
Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany

Nicolas Sarkozy
President of the French Republic

World Health Summit Presidents

Axel Kahn
President, Université Paris Descartes, France

Detlev Ganten
Founding President,
Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Central Topics

The World Health Summit was organized along four tracks:

  • Infectious Diseases
  • Health Care Across the Generations
  • Health Systems
  • Adapting the Research Agenda

See details


M8 Alliance Declaration


We would like to thank each and every partner who contributes to the World Health Summit.

Photos and Videos




Foundation of the M8 Alliance of Academic Health Centers, Academies and Medical Universities

The "Treaty on M8 Alliance of Academic Health Centers, Academies and Medical Universities" documents the birth of the M8 Alliance in 2009.

Satellite Events

In association with the World Health Summit, several partners organize a broad range of events.

See details in the program